First phase of Tokyo 2020 Olympic qualification concludes at Hempel Sailing World Championships

rsx men fleet

Aarhus World Championships

The first phase of Tokyo 2020 Olympic qualification for sailing has concluded after fleet racing wrapped up in the Mixed Multihull – Nacra 17, Men’s Skiff – 49er and the Men’s and Women’s Windsurfing – RS:X.

Eight places in both the Nacra 17 and 49er, ten in the Men’s RS:X and 11 in the Women’s RS:X were available in Aarhus and subject to final notification from World Sailing after the event to the relevant Member National Authority / National Olympic Committee, the following nations have qualified:

Nacra 17

  1. Argentina
  2. Australia
  3. Austria
  4. Brazil
  5. Denmark
  6. Great Britain
  7. Italy
  8. New Zealand

The Nacra 17 fleet had 27 nations represented across 68 boats.


  1. Croatia
  2. Denmark
  3. France
  4. Germany
  5. Great Britain
  6. New Zealand
  7. Portugal
  8. Switzerland

Across 86 entries, 31 nations were aiming for qualification.

31 in 49er

RS:X Men

  1. China
  2. France
  3. Great Britain
  4. Greece
  5. Israel
  6. Italy
  7. Netherlands
  8. Norway
  9. Poland
  10. Spain

The Men’s RS:X featured 85 competitors from 33 nations.

RS:X Women

  1. China
  2. Denmark
  3. Estonia
  4. France
  5. Great Britain
  6. Israel
  7. Italy
  8. Netherlands
  9. Poland
  10. Russia
  11. Spain

Twenty eight nations participated in the 62-boat fleet.

Laser, Laser Radial and 49erFX qualification update.
Women’s 470 qualification update.
Finn and Men’s 470 qualification update.

Japanese sailors were represented in all fleets so as host nation, receive an entry into every Tokyo 2020 Olympic sailing event. 

About the Tokyo 2020 Olympic Sailing Competition Qualification System

The World Championships is the principal qualification event for the Tokyo 2020 Olympic Games with 101 places, 40% of the total quota in the ten Olympic sailing disciplines, up for grabs.

Six places will be available in the Men's and Women's One Person Dinghy following the 2018 Asian Games and 2019 Pan Am Games.

Class Association World Championships in 2019 will see the awarding of 61 places and throughout the remainder of 2019, moving into 2020, Continental Qualification events will be held to decide the remaining 68 places.

Two Men's One Person Dinghy and two Women's One Person Dinghy spots will be awarded to eligible National Olympic Committees (NOC) through the Tripartite Commission Invitation Places. The International Olympic Committee will invite eligible NOCs on 14 October 2019 to apply for these places.

Each NOC may enter a maximum of one boat per event, a total of 15 athletes (eight men and seven women) at the Tokyo 2020 Olympic Sailing Competition.

All places are awarded subject to the details of the qualification system. Click here to view the qualification system in full.